And so it begins…

I made my first questionable call as a dance mom this weekend.  I do not even presume to think it will be the only one.  However our 6 year old, Lo, made the competition team for her studio and we had parent orientation on Saturday.  (We attend a marvelous very kid friendly studio so I want to be perfectly clear this was in NO way their call.)

We covered a ton of info in this meeting…I mean enough info that it required each of us to have labeled color coded folders and special forms.  I honestly thought I was going to need a snack halfway through to keep my stamina up.  The other parents were asking these great questions about practices, and class schedules, and the thing I focused on was “earrings”.

“As a part of their costumes the girls may be required to wear earrings.”  Now Lo does not have her ears pierced, she had no desire to get her ears pierced, I had no desire to take her to get her ears pierced…that is until I heard their costumes come with earrings.  Clip ons could be made so that she would be able to complete the requirement without piercing. I however know how bad those hurt.  I also know how tight they would have to pinch to stay on while dancing (even tighter for my kid as she likes to dance with, let’s just say, enthusiasm above and beyond what is required).  Ain’t nobody gonna agree to keeping those bad boys on. 

I decided then that she was going to have to get her ears pierced.  And not just soon..pierced that day so they would have time to heal before choreography and rehearsals started.  I also decided that if this was going to happen, daddy was going to be the one that would have to convince her.

To make a long story short, she is now sporting newly pierced ears.  I learned she is really fast (as she jumped from the chair after the first one was done and ran out of the store and down the sidewalk).  I learned Jamba Juice heals everything. And I taught an entire shopping center worth of people that Claire’s murders children (if the screams coming from the store were what they sounded like).   

Lo is really happy, in retrospect, and told me she felt “Just so mature..like she was doing all this big girl stuff now”. All I could think was, “And this is the last bit of growing up you get to do until you’re thirty.”

Leave a Reply

