always a fresh start

For years I refused to make any New Year’s Resolutions…I felt as if it was a complete and total waste of my energy.  I knew I didn’t have the fortitude to go the distance, to finish what I started…so why bother?

I find myself in a different position this year.  I am staring at 40 and my body knows it.  In the past year I have been diagnosed with several health issues that have left me tired, run down, heavy in body, and heavy in heart.  As I struggle finding the right balance of medications, and do everything I can to heal my chemistry, I have been thinking about my commitment to the rest of my overall well being.

You see my body didn’t tank over night.  It has been years in the making.  Years of living in extreme stress, worrying about the big things and the little, worrying about “fairness”, not having the faith that my heavenly father was BIG enough to see me through.

In order to become who he has created me to be I am going to have to fight.  I am going to have to stop listening to those voices in my head screaming “defeat”.  I am going to have to put aside and forget what I want and listen to God’s voice and where he is leading.  Let me tell you this will be no easy task for a headstrong know-it-all like me.

So here’s to 2016, it’s a year of promises and as always a new beginning and fresh start.  Praise the Lord for “The steadfast love of the LORD never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” (Lamentations 3:22-23)

Leave a Reply

